Not Goodbye, See You Later: Leaving the Forest Behind.

Wow. It has been a minute since I have made a new post. My brain races with so many ideas, it’s hard to jot them down before they are gone. I think an appropriate place to start will be where I left off. ELECTRIC FOREST, BABY!

Before we dive in, I just wanted to add a quick note about the picture featured. That is Nahko and Medicine for the People, with Nahko pointing. Where am I? In the Cheetah Hat! I couldn’t take my eyes of him!

At the same time that there are no words to describe my experience at the forest, there are millions that come to mind. Electrifying, mind-blowing, spiritually awakening, and wonderous are just a few that popped into my mind. First of all, I survived. I had this sick, gut-wrenching pain (no doubt caused my never-ending anxiety) that I was going to hate it. Not the festival, but the camping part. Let me state again, I survived. I didn’t love not showering (nor did my group, I bet), but I loved that when I woke up, I opened my tent flap and felt the breeze of Michigan, saw strangers hugging and laughing, saw members of my group cooking sizzling bacon on a portable stove. A lesson that I learned within my first day there: you learn who is important to talk to. The only person I spoke with the entire trip, other than the festival goers, was my mom. Because for those who know my relationship with my mother, it was expected to keep each other updated. Mostly me updating her that, yes, I was still alive and well.

The group I went with was perfect. I made a ton of new friends, and couldn’t help but feel bummed that these people weren’t in my life during college. There is something spectacular about the festival scene that connects you to those who you surround yourself with. We were all there for the same reason: to escape from reality and listen to some really kick-ass music. And the music: OH MY GOD. The only artist that I had prepared for by listening to non-stop was Nahko and Medicine for the People. I had listened to a few others on the line-up, but I figured that as I wondered through the forest, I would be drawn to the music that I liked, and deterred from what I didn’t. Well, there was not a single act that I hated, or even disliked, so it made it hard to leave stages to venture into other realms. My group loved to “Drown in the deep house.” I was content going wherever, as long as I got to see Nahko.

Nahko was playing at six at the back stage of the forest on the first night of the forest. When we got to the camp and set up, we all started drinking, so at the point when it was time to head into the forest, I might not have been all there. What I do remember, though, is having the best time with one of my fellow camp-mates, Lyndsey (not sure if that’s how you spell her name though) and forging our way to the entrance gate before anyone else in our group! It was so much fun, and, as a first time festival goer, I felt incredibly accomplished. We finally saw our sparkly silver sign and met up with our group. Cherub was playing, as well, but I grabbed Kate, or Kate grabbed me (again, it’s a little fuzzy at this point), and we made our way to the stage where Nahko would be playing. As we forged to the front of the crowd, I began to feel a bit overwhelmed. I couldn’t believe this moment had finally come. The people who surrounded us were so awesome, all just as excited to see Nahko as I was. There was a guy who told me that it would be his 14th time seeing Nahko perform. I couldn’t believe it. For the last six months, Nahko had been my medicine, his music filling my soul when I was feeling broken, his words a constant reminder that “good things (were) comin’.” As hugs and lots of love were passed around in that front area, I breathed in the world and exhaled any tension or concerns I had about the week ahead of me. I was in the middle of a forest, in Michigan, with my best friend and the music that makes life worth living. There was nowhere else in the world I would rather had been than right there in that moment. When I opened my eyes to take in my surrounding, I saw Nahko Bear walk on stage… I couldn’t believe it. Here he was, the man whose music had filled my ears and my heart. Before I knew it, I was crying. Just listening to him strum at his guitar overwhelmed my senses and tears were rushing down my face. At a time in life when nothing seemed to be worth it, here was the man and his band, providing me my medicine. As I wiped my tears away, a guy who was standing next to me started laughing. “Dude,” he said, “that’s just his warm-up. Just wait until he starts PLAYING!” I laughed along with him, not at all embarrassed that I was crying in the middle of a crowd with hundreds, maybe even thousands, of people. His set flew by, but there were many instances during the performance that I swore he was singing to me, letting me know that I was going to be alright. It was over before I knew it, but it was just the right amount of time. As we walked away from the stage, I was smiling from ear to ear. This was going to be the best week of my life. I had made it!

I could name off all of the sets I saw, all of the people I met, all of the things that were said and done at our campsite, but it’s sacred. It is between the group I went with and the other attendees of the Forest and the ground we shared all our experiences with. I had mentioned before in one of my earlier posts that Cory (one of my best friends) was the one who had hyped up the Forest, but it truly is like nothing I have ever experienced. Nothing Cory had told me had prepared me for the love that was shared at that festival. Every person let their freak flag fly, and fly high did they all. CARLLL!, until next year.

That's me in the cheetah hat! I can't take my eyes off of Nahko!

That’s me in the cheetah hat! I can’t take my eyes off of Nahko!

Preferences

 

Preferences
Preferences
Preferences
§
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
0
=
Backspace
Tab
q
w
e
r
t
y
u
i
o
p
[
]
Return
capslock
a
s
d
f
g
h
j
k
l
;
\
shift
`
z
x
c
v
b
n
m
,
.
/
shift
English
alt
alt
Preferences

Leave a comment